your guide to a better life at Technopark
Sunday December 4th 2016
Technopark Living

Mobile Stolen – Locate your mobile with Android Device Manager

android-device-manager-realshot

Now if you loose your Android Mobile you can easily locate it using Android Device Manager.

Android Device Manager can help you find, lock, and erase it.

Turn on Android Device Manager

  1. Open  Google Settings from your device’s apps menu.
  2. Touch Android Device Manager.

You can turn on the following options:

  • Remotely locate this device. Find your device and show its approximate location on Google Maps. For devices running 4.1 and higher, location access must also be enabled. To turn it on, go to Google Settings > Location > Access location.
  • Allow remote lock and factory reset. Lock your device and erase everything on it. You can also change the lock screen passcode. Touch this option, then select Activate to turn on the device administrator.
If more than one person uses a tablet, only the tablet owner can turn on Android Device Manager

 

Finding your device

  1. Sign in to your Google Account on android.com/devicemanager. If you’re using a Google Apps account, you will sign in to your My Devices page.You’ll get a notification on each of the mobile devices that are linked to your Google Account. The notification asks you to turn on Android Device Manager.
  2. If you have more than one device, select the arrow next to the device name to change the one displayed. To rename the device, use the  Edit icon.

Locate a friend’s device

If a friend loses their device, they can sign in to Android Device Manager on Chrome using your mobile device. They should follow the instructions below instead of adding their account to your device.

  1. Open Chrome, and create an incognito tab.
  2. Have your friend sign in to the Google Account that they use on their mobile device.
  3. After locating the device, have your friend follow the steps below to remotely lock or erase the phone or tablet.
  4. When your friend is finished, close the Chrome tab.

Remotely ring, lock, or erase your device

When your device is found, you’ll see the device’s approximate location on a map and when it was last used.

Android Device Manager doesn’t collect a location history. Your device’s approximate location is requested when you first sign in, and this location data is deleted when you sign out of the device manager.

You can select the following options:

  • Ring. Ring your device at full volume for 5 minutes – even if it’s set to silent or vibrate.
  • Lock. Lock your device with a new password.
  • Erase. Permanently delete all of your data.

Devices that are offline or powered off

If your device is offline, Android Device Manager won’t be able to ring, lock, or erase the device until there’s a mobile data or Wi-Fi connection. Select any of the options in advance, and the action will be performed once the device is back online.

Android Device Manager won’t work for devices that are powered off.

Hide devices on Google Play

If you hide a device on Google Play, the device won’t appear in Android Device Manager. You can hide or show devices on Google Play by going to play.google.com/settings and selecting a device in the Visibility column.

 

Leave a Comment